Thursday, April 19, 2018

Review: Ten Thousand Skies Above You- Claudia Gray


Rate:
5/5

Goodreads Description:

Ever since she used the Firebird, her parents' invention, to cross into alternate dimensions, Marguerite has caught the attention of enemies who will do anything to force her into helping them dominate the multiverse—even hurting the people she loves. She resists until her boyfriend, Paul, is attacked and his consciousness scattered across multiple dimensions. 


Marguerite has no choice but to search for each splinter of Paul’s soul. The hunt sends her racing through a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each world brings Marguerite one step closer to rescuing Paul. But with each trial she faces, she begins to question the destiny she thought they shared. 


The second book in the Firebird trilogy, Ten Thousand Skies Above You features Claudia Gray’s lush, romantic language and smart, exciting action, and will have readers clamoring for the next book.

Review:
In my review for the first book I mentioned how much I loved the Russiaverse and so I can say that when Marguerite went back to it I was very happy, specially because I suspected the big news, it was something that from the last book, since it happened I was like oh girl, you just messed up big time and you dont even know it.
Now, spoiler alert but she says she wont go back, but come on, she has to, we need to know how its going to turn out for her in Russiaverse!
Okay, overall, I freaking love these books because you literally get thrown into new worlds and you have to make new discoveries along with Marguerite!
I dont know if I mentioned this before but big freaking kudos to Gray for that ! Not just creating a single new world but multiples.
This second installment also went into a topic that I considered last time that was bothering me
Okay, so she and Paul seem to be fated to be together because they are together in multiple universes BUT! Shouldnt there also be as many universes in which she ends up with Theo ?
So Marguerite KINDA starts to question that 
Gray leaves no stone unturned!
You go girl
The writing pulls you in
the worlds pull you in
the cover pulls you in
I love it

Recommend it?
Yup

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Review: Meant To Be By Lauren Morrill


Rate:
5/5

Goodreads Description:
This spring break, Julia's rules are about to get defenestrated (SAT word: to be thrown from a window) when she's partnered with her personal nemesis, class-clown Jason, on a school trip to London. After one wild party, Julia starts receiving romantic texts . . . from an unknown number! Jason promises to help discover the identity of her mysterious new suitor if she agrees to break a few rules along the way. And thus begins a wild goose chase through London, leading Julia closer and closer to the biggest surprise of all: true love. Because sometimes the things you least expect are the most meant to be.

Review:
I freaking loved this book, holy damn, I couldnt stop, I wish there was more like these. It was such a quick and easy read. While the whole book was kind of cliche-ish, sometimes that is all I need in a day. I love when characters are out in different places, like Anna and the French Kiss, with Anna going over to Europe or when they live there like Cinder in China and just things like that, its things that are different from where I am, duh, and its just like seeing things for the first time... Again, duh for me .I really like Jason, I wish I had a Jason in my life, I also wish that we wouldnt gotten to see what happend with them after everything, like a few years later or just when they were back at school or something like that.

Recommend it?
Yup



Thursday, April 5, 2018

Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor




Rate:

3/5


Goodreads Description:

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.


Review:

I don't know how to feel about it, like its in the middle but I don't know if I am leaning towards more good than bad,
The book started out well enough but as it went on it started to irk me. 
Like, example, how the characters couldnt understand something simple but yet know something complicated, like oncology (I had to google that stuff)
To me a lot of it just seemed forced, the characters didnt naturally fall into their struggles, I could go on a full rant about the characters themselves but I feel like I would spoil much of it due to giving particular examples to which I rolled my eyes. They could annoy me to bits at times which is why I give the book a 3


Recommend it?

eh.... ish